#13 Upper Pierce Reservoir Park

It’s wonderful to blog again after a stressful week of exams.  I visited Upper Pierce Reservoir a few weekends ago and I have been itching to post the pictures and write about my experience there! Enjoy reading 🙂

Upper Pierce Reservoir has definitely become one of my favorite parks in Singapore. I thoroughly enjoyed exploring this park which was full of wildlife as well as heritage and history.

I suggest you go for a stroll or jog in the park early in the morning, as you get breathtaking views of the sunrise and the reflection of the clouds on the water. The morning air is fresh, crisp and refreshing, and you can also see the Bukit Timah hill in the distance.

The morning view:

SONY DSC SONY DSC

SONY DSC  SONY DSC

SONY DSC SONY DSC

As I continued to walk through the park, I thought there was no forest trail/path in Lower Pierce Reservoir. I was very disappointed, but my father suggested we explore a bit more. We walked down this field where we saw some  more beautiful views  of the reservoir,  a range of insects, dragonflies and a Green Changeable Lizard (Bronchocela cristatella).

SONY DSC SONY DSC

SONY DSC SONY DSC

SONY DSC SONY DSC

I also discovered there was a small path that entered into the forest beside the field! Thanks to whoever took the effort to bush-bash their way through!

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

From the forest, the reservoir looked a bit different, against the backdrop of the tall trees.

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

This is an Orange-striped threadtail like the one I saw in Lower Pierce Reservoir,

SONY DSC SONY DSC

Indocnemis Orang damselfly:

SONY DSC

Walking deeper into the forest, I heard a range of melodious calls. I looked up to the trees to see a group of birds flying around. After at least half an hour of craning my neck, spraining my hand and taking a series of blurred pictures we managed to get a few clear pictures of the bird. Since we could not see the bird clearly, after browsing through the pictures, I realized it was the Common Hill Myna (Gracula religiosa). I thought it was a rare and unique bird with the glimpses of its stunning yellow and orange beak, and was fooled! Nonetheless, I was fascinated after listening to its beautiful songs and learning more about it.

SONY DSC

Hill Myna
(Gracula religiosa)

I’ve heard from many people that the Hill Myna can imitate other bird sounds, but I came to know that it can display over 13 song types including whistles, screeches, gurgles- and the sound which I heard, a melodious, human like song- which almost made me cry! They are actually quite elusive as they enjoy staying in the forest, on high-treetops. This is my first time seeing one, and I don’t think people come across it too often.

SONY DSC    SONY DSC

That was the end of the ‘secret’ forest trail that we discovered. I hope that everyone who visits this park will take a little stroll this way!

Monkey business as usual 🙂

SONY DSC SONY DSC

SONY DSCSONY DSC

After exiting the park, we decided to take the long road back to the city. It was a wonderful walk, where you may spot some wildlife if you look carefully! I saw  many butterflies, including the Common Lascar (Pantoporia hordonia) and the Chocolate Pansy (Junonia iphita),

SONY DSC

Malayan Lascar
Lasippa tiga siaka

 

 

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Chocolate Pansy
Junonia hedonia da

SONY DSC SONY DSC

Your nature lover,

Lavanya Prakash

Blog- https://mynatureexperiences.wordpress.com/
Twitter- https://twitter.com/MyNatureExp
Facebook page- Mynatureexperiences
Email- mynatureexperiences(at)hotmail.com

3 thoughts on “#13 Upper Pierce Reservoir Park

  1. Its wonderful Lavanya to see your love and passion for nature. Keep it up. I love your the blogs. It simple yet informative. Great job!!

  2. An excellent blog write-up from a 12 years old. Keep it up.
    The first butterfly is Malayan Lascar (Lasippa tiga siaka) and the second butterfly is indeed Chocolate Pansy but it should be Junonia hedonia da. You can refer to http://www.butterflycircle.com/checklist%20V2/CI/ for reference or purchase the book :
    A field guide to the butterflies of Singapore by Khew Sin Khoon
    http://butterflycircle.blogspot.sg/2010/10/maiden-flight-butterflies-of-singapore.html

    1. Thank you for your corrections and encouragement! I will definitely refer to the sources you have given in the future and make the corrections you mentioned. Thanks again! Lavanya

Leave a Reply

