Jack, the grasshopper!

A beautiful short-horned grasshopper (Valanga nigricornis), whom I call Jack has made our garden his home. We spotted Jack inside the house but he soon made his way out into the garden, where he has been there for several days.

He loves sitting on the sugarcane plant or the moringa tree, munching on the leaves.

20140521_175911

 

 

20140521_104059

(Above: In my mom’s work area inside the house…peeping outside the window!)

In our garden:

SONY DSC

 

SONY DSC

Hopefully Jack will stay some time longer in our garden. I love watching him move and eat the leaves 🙂

Thanks to Ming Kai, an orthopterist for helping me identify the grasshopper! I bet you don’t know what an ‘orthopterist’ means!! Neither did I till I connected with Ming Kai 🙂  Check out his blog here.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

