Nature walk at Gardens by The Bay

A few weeks ago, I made a short visit to nation’s famous Gardens by The Bay. It is a huge tourist attraction in Singapore, built in support of the transformation of Singapore into a “City in a Garden”. It’s a unique, picturesque location but surprisingly, near its giant man-made structures and perfectly mowed lawns, is the Marina Reservoir, and is home to Smooth-coated Otters (Lutrogale perspicillata) which are frequently sighted.

image.img

Gardens by the Bay Photo courtesy: yoursingapore

Except when I go there. I feel the otters are just escaping me every time I come close to seeing them. I don’t know if it’s a game they’re playing with me, but whatever it is.. it should stop!

SONY DSC

I could not bear to look at this sign!

Anyways, I had more of a nature ramble through the park, instead of doing the touristy things! I did however, go into the Flower Dome of the two conservatories where you can view flowers from all over the world. It was really, really cold inside so we only stayed a bit there..nonetheless we enjoyed looking at the flowers and even some interesting looking leaves!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

These leaves remind me of christmas hollies!

These leaves remind me of Christmas!

If its a place in Singapore bounty with flowers, there’s no doubt there will be an Olive-backed Sunbird (Cinnyris jugularis)ย chirping away to glory! This female was ever so gracefully picking nectar from these orange flowers, while keeping an eye on me.

SONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSC

Another bird I saw in my walk was this juvenile White-breasted Waterhen (Amaurornis phoenicurus) that was weary of my presence so it flew away within seconds!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

On the side of the pavement we were walking on there were bushes and trees that were overlooking the Marina Reservoir. My eyes were peeled open for any movement.. I almost gave up as everything seem to be still as ever. But then I saw Mr.Lizard (Yes, he’s unidentified)ย who looked quite confident and arrogant if I may say so myself.

c

“And who might you be?”

Invading my privacy.. Hmph *rolls his eyes*

“Invading my privacy.. Hmph! *rolls his eyes*”

The other lizard I spotted was one who had a beautiful pattern on her skin. On researching I found out this lizard is called the Brown Anole (Norops sagrei) and it was a female.ย I had never heard of this species of lizard before..and just as I expected, it is an introduced species to Singapore, a native of Cuba, the Bahamas and some islands in the Caribbean.

SONY DSC

There seems to be population of these lizards established in Marina Bay, and there haven’t been any recorded sightings outside the area. I felt very lucky to have seen this lizard, I thought it was just a common, pretty one that I’d never seen before!

A close-up on the patterns

A close-up on the patterns

It was a wonderful experience to ramble along the beautiful scenery of Gardens by The Bay.. even though I didn’t see the otters, I’m happy saw some unique species of flowers and a lizard! Nothing beats a long walk in nature, with a camera in hand, especially in the summer holidays when there is a lot of time to kill!

21 thoughts on “Nature walk at Gardens by The Bay

    1. Thank you! Yes, they are very common here. They are regular visitors to my garden and have even made a nest before!

  1. The 1st lizard is also a Brown Anole! Theyโ€™re capable of changing their skin colour, which is why anoles are also mistakenly called โ€˜chameleonsโ€™. If Iโ€™m not wrong, adult male Brown Anole are darker in colour and donโ€™t have the stripes seen in adult females and juveniles. Also, unfortunately, the Brown Anole has already been seen outside of Gardens by the Bay: http://lkcnhm.nus.edu.sg/nus/images/pdfs/sbr/2015/sbr2015-061.pdf

  2. Thanks so much for visiting my author blog – very kind of you. A pleasure finding you here with your wonderful photos and information. I love Singapore, I was there for a few years as a small child and again in the early 2000s working with recording artists there. It is a fab place, magical and so interesting. We didn’t get much time off, but did see the Night Safari which was enjoyable. Thanks so much for sharing your photos here. Wonderful ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thank you so much Jane.. I really appreciate your kind words! Glad you liked Singapore! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Lavanya, such gorgeous photos! The Brown Anole and Olive Backed Sunbird have set my hair on fire and I wish I could run around in circles for the rest of the day, giggling.

    1. Haha! Thank you so much ๐Ÿ™‚ Olive-backed sunbirds are really a delight to watch… they set my heart on fire!

Leave a Reply

