Hope of the Hornbill

As the sun was setting on my long walk in the woods

I sat down at a cozy shelter near a community garden

A secluded spot near the allotment plots

Pausing to admire the bountiful papayas ripening and the work of the elderly gardeners

After a few minutes of rest, I got up to continue walking

When a magnificent hornbill swooped in

With an uncannily loud sound as it flapped its wings

A flash of orange and a swiftly cut piece of papaya in its beak

The hornbill looked at me curiously with its long, beautiful eyelashes

Then landing on the shelter I sat on moments before

Making a grand appearance to nod a goodbye

These species were brought back from extinction in Singapore

Thanks to the work of dedicated conservationists and the urban adaptability of this species

To me, they are a symbol of hope, resilience and commitment

Caring for their monogamous partners even when they have sealed apart during nesting

Keep in your heart the hope of the hornbill, and stay committed to your purpose

Practice everyday ubuntu*

As Martin Luther King Jr once said,

“We must accept finite disappointment but not lose infinite hope”

*ubuntu: ubuntu has its roots in African philosophy encapsulating the idea that a person’s humanity is bound up with the humanity of others. Quoting from the book “Everyday Ubuntu” by Mungi Ngomane – “by embracing ubuntu, we live in hope of overcoming division, and become stronger together in a world where the wise build bridges, not walls”. See Lesson 7: Choose Hope over Optimism for more on this topic.

5 thoughts on “Hope of the Hornbill

    1. Hi Sabri, so nice to hear from you too. Thank you for letting me know you moved to Tanah Aina. Sad to hear you have left Taman Negara – I loved Mutiara Taman Negara resort. I would love to visit Pahang with my family one day 🙂

      Please take care and stay safe too!

  1. Hi Lavanya! I used to love watching hornbills on a live safari program that I used to watch regularly, which was based in South Africa. They remind me of the colorful toucans that live in South and Central America! It’s good to know that hornbills are recovering in Singapore 😊

    1. Hi Josh, wow that sounds amazing! Yes, their big bills definitely look similar as the toucans 🙂 The Oriental Pied Hornbills are indeed doing well here in Singapore, some conservationists are even afraid they might become a pest bird as they are venturing more into food markets and public places. Unfortunately people are also starting to feed them.

      1. That seems to be a classic story: when species recover, then public support for them decreases, because conflict between the animal species and humans becomes more prevalent. This was happening big time with grizzly bears when I was in Montana.

        I definitely don’t think it’s a good idea to feed a bird as large and intelligent as a hornbill, though! I could see that altering the birds’ behavior in ways that would make them more of a nuisance.

Leave a comment