My Feathered Friend

He looks at me curiously with his gorgeous pink eyes- then turns around to show his colorful plumage that would make anyone awestruck. A splash of orange and pink add a beautiful touch to his olive green wings. This elegant fellow is called the Pink-necked Green Pigeon (Treron vernans).

SONY DSC

I think its safe to say he’s my friend. A friend who stops by at the same tree everyday just outside my window. After he takes a moment to say hello, he will preen his feathers carefully before he’s off!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Sometimes its just nice to know, after a tiring day at school, I can come back home and open the windows; and this tree will have my feathered friend to greet me. He knows exactly the right moment to come, when I really need it.

SONY DSC

I’d like to think he was calling out “Goodbye! Have a good day!”

19 thoughts on “My Feathered Friend

    1. πŸ™‚ They’re beauties, aren’t they? Can’t get over their stunning colors, so artistic

      1. Haha yes, what an apt description! Missed him today.. hope to see him tomorrow. Its especially nice to watch him during exam time πŸ™‚

  1. This is a very pretty pigeon. In the UK, common Wood Pigeons are much maligned by many, but I find them extremely entertaining. We have a pair, that spend a lot of time in our garden, and they are great fun to watch.

    1. Thank you so much! I feel very blessed, yes πŸ™‚ Also, thank you for stopping by my blog, I really like yours! Looking forward to reading more of your posts!

  2. When I come across the same birds, I also feel as if my old friends have come to say hello. Certainly gives a nice feeling.

    1. Yes, it definitely does! It’s lovely to have a garden because you see the same birds come to their favorite flowers and spots everyday.

Leave a comment